GEAR REVIEW: Saucony Ignite Tight

by Shelley Bernstein, Marathon Sports staff member

dsc_1005

While I prefer to run in the warm sunshine in shorts, I run all year outside in all weather. Training in Massachusetts through the winter for the Boston Marathon in April requires that I trade in my shorts for serious cold weather gear.

Usually this makes me wish for warm weather, but when I first tried the Saucony Ignite Tight, I got a little giddy. I have worn these tights on several runs so far this fall and I have come to a conclusion: I am in love!

dsc_1013

The Saucony Ignite Tight is a snug, body hugging piece. The fabric is soft and feels like a second skin, which allows it to move freely with me while not bunching up anywhere. The waistband is nice and wide to distribute elastic pressure comfortably and it sits directly on my waist, not on my hips, so it doesn’t require adjustment while running. The drawstring sits flat inside the waistband unless you pull it out to tighten it—which I didn’t need to (one of the best features for me!)

dsc_0945The first time I wore these tights was on a rainy trail run. They kept me warm, dry, and comfortable. Yay, wool-blend! They were a very muddy after the run, but they washed up like new and line-dried fast enough that I could quickly take them out again on an early cold morning for a longer run. Even in 30 degrees these tights kept me warm.

The Ignite Tight is quickly becoming that piece of gear that I look for first when I’m heading out now that the weather is getting colder. I am glad I have these in my arsenal for winter training. Definitely consider adding these to your fall running kit, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

